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Washington 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts 

State Population: 6,724,540 
Population Ages 12–20: 826,000 

   Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20            
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 28.0   231,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 18.3   151,000 

Ages 12–14                
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 6.9    17,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 3.8    9,000 

 Ages 15–17                
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.5    59,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.7   35,000 

 Ages 18–20                
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 51.3   156,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 35.4   107,000 
 
    Number 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)       76 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)     4,512 
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  Percentage of  Number 
  All Traffic 
   Fatalities 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers  
with BAC > 0.01 32.0    29 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note: Although Washington does not prohibit internal possession, it has a statutory provision 
that makes it unlawful for a minor to “be in a public place…while exhibiting the effects of 
having consumed liquor” (Wash. Rev. Code § 66.44.270). Laws that punish minors for 
displaying “indicators of consumption” or for “exhibiting the effects” of having consumed 
alcohol, but which do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as 
prohibiting internal possession, for purposes of this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
• It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 
  



State Reports – Washington 

766 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit: 0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• 365 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age: 15    
• Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours—10 of which must be at night 

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age: 16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after: 1 a.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist: First 6 months, no one under age 20 not in the immediate 
family; after 6 months, no more than three passengers under age 20 not in the immediate 
family 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  
• Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Managers, Servers 
• Applies only to on-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Note: On November 8, 2011, voters in Washington approved Initiative 1183. In addition to 
privatizing the wholesale distribution and retail sale of liquor, Initiative 1183 triggers changes to 
laws currently coded for several policy topics. Implementation of the measure is ongoing, 
however, and will continue during 2012. Until implementation is complete, it is not possible to 
fully and accurately report information for this policy topic.  

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer: 18 
• Wine: 18 
• Spirits: 21 

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Wine: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Spirits: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Dram Shop Liability 
• There is no statutory liability.  
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.  

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Note: In Reynolds v. Hicks, the court held that a social host who furnishes alcohol to a minor can 
be held liable for resulting harms to the minor who was furnished but is not liable for injuries 
caused by the minor to third parties. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: Negligence—host must have 

known or should have known of the event’s occurrence. 
• Exception(s): Family 
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Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:  

Age Verification Requirements   
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  

State Approval/Permit Requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain State permit.  

Reporting Requirements: None 

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Recipient must be 21.  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition: 4 gallons or more 
• Prohibited: 

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail: $5,000/1 year 
– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail: $5,000 /1 year 

• Purchaser information collected:  
– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 
– Address where keg will be consumed 

• Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
• Deposit: Not required 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs. 

Note: Under a special endorsement from the liquor control board, a grocery store licensee may 
sell malt liquor in containers no larger than 5½ gallons. Research revealed no similar container 
size restriction imposed on other licensees (see Wash. Rev. Code § 66.28.200). 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer: Permitted—to sell via the Internet, a new license applicant must request Internet sales 

privileges. Existing licensees must notify the board. 
• Wine: Permitted—to sell via the Internet, a new license applicant must request Internet sales 

privileges. Existing licensees must notify the board. 
• Spirits: No law 

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol): Control State 
• Wine (12 percent alcohol): Control State 
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control State 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages: Not prohibited—licensee may offer a free drink on a case-by-case basis. 
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• Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited  
• Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited 
• Unlimited beverages: Not prohibited 
• Increased volume: Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol): Control State 
• Wine (12 percent alcohol): Control State 
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control State 

Note: On November 8, 2011, voters in Washington approved Initiative 1183. In addition to 
privatizing the wholesale distribution and retail sale of liquor, Initiative 1183 triggers changes to 
laws currently coded for several policy topics. Implementation of the measure is ongoing, 
however, and will continue during 2012. Until implementation is complete, it is not possible to 
fully and accurately report information for this policy topic. 
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Washington State Survey Responses 

 

State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Washington State Liquor Control Board (WSLCB) 
Methods by which local and State enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

WSLCB enforcement officers conduct virtually all of the compliance checks and liquor license 
inspections in the State. Local law enforcement officers are authorized to do that work, but their more 
usual involvement with underage drinking enforcement is breaking up underage drinking events and 
parties. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary State agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies  No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by State law enforcement agencies 1,925 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No data 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by State agencies 2,442 
Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks 457 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the State3 346 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $192,450 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the State4 111 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 669 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 
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1 Or having consumed or purchased per State statutes 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 
with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies 
 

 

Number of license revocations imposed5 4 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

Additional Clarification   
No data 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Reducing Underage Drinking (RUaD)  

Number of youth served 5,000 
Number of parents served 1,000 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Contact Scott Waller, 

scott.waller@dshs.wa.
gov 

URL for evaluation report No data 
URL for more program information http://www.starttalkingnow.org 

or contact Deb Schnellman, 
schneda@dshs.wa.gov 

Program description: RUaD consists of State-level efforts and community-based strategies. The State 
RUaD Coalition - the Washington State Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking - has members who 
represent 22 State agencies and organizations. A major current effort is a media campaign called “Let’s 
Draw the Line Between Youth and Alcohol” that includes a Web site, http://www.starttalkingnow.org; paid 
and donated media, primarily on the Internet; local efforts to localize the statewide media message; and 
Spanish-language public service announcements on television and radio. Other statewide efforts are 
directed at enhancing the enforcement of laws pertaining to underage use of alcohol and reducing youth 
exposure to alcohol industry messaging. 

Strategic Prevention Framework-State Incentive Grant (SPF-SIG)  
Number of youth served 8,593 
Number of parents served 332 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 07/31/2010 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report Contact Scott Waller, scott.waller@dshs.wa.gov 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description: The SPF-SIG project was a community-based research project designed to reduce 
underage drinking. Through the 5-year project, community coalitions developed, implemented, and 
evaluated community-specific strategic plans. The goals of the project were to: (1) prevent the onset and 
progression of substance abuse; (2) reduce alcohol-related problems in communities; (3) build a 
prevention capacity and infrastructure at the State and community levels; and (4) implement a process of 
infusing data into the decisionmaking process. 

Substance Abuse Prevention Intervention Services Program (SAPISP)  
Number of youth served 16,000 
Number of parents served 1,200 
Number of caregivers served No data 

http://www.starttalkingnow.org/
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Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report Contact Dixie Grunenfelder, dixie.grunenfelder@k12.wa.us 
URL for more program information http://www.k12.wa.us/PreventionIntervention/default.aspx 

Program description: The SAPISP program, operated by the Office of the Superintendent of Public 
Instruction, places specialists in schools to implement comprehensive student assistance programs that 
address problems associated with substance abuse and other at-risk behaviors. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Athena Forum Web site 

URL for more program information http://www.theathenaforum.org 

Program description: This is the primary Web site for prevention professional development in Washington 
State. There is extensive information about underage drinking, but also about other general prevention 
issues. The site features informational maps and community profiles that indicate the geographic location 
of high-risk areas for various problem behaviors. The Web site has a public view and a members-only 
side. Through the public view, individuals can access most of the resource information, including 
information about upcoming prevention events and training. Through the members-only side, individuals 
can post information on the site and participate in discussions and blogs. 
Target Zero Task Forces 

URL for more program information http://www.wtsc.wa.gov/programs-priorities/task-forces 

Program description: The 41 Target Zero tasks forces are a key community-based component of the 
Washington Traffic Safety Commission’s plan to reduce Washington traffic fatalities to zero. The task 
forces focus on addressing local traffic safety concerns, including impaired driving, young drivers, 
speeding, and safety restraint usage. Many of the Target Zero task forces operate driving under the 
influence (DUI) Victim Impact panels for adults and youth and/or have law enforcement partnerships that 
implement party intervention patrols. 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Program description: The Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery (DBHR) provides direct funding 
to the State’s 29 federally recognized Tribes to support services that prevent or treat substance abuse 
problems. Most of the Tribes use these funds to support prevention efforts, most of which focus on 
youth issues including underage drinking. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

Yes 

Program description: As part of the current Let’s Draw the Line Between Youth and Alcohol media 
campaign, the campaign consultant - RadarWorks - developed methods for tracking the number of 
times campaign messages were accessed on the Internet. 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description: The implementation of the prevention set-aside from the Federal 
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) block grant requires that a minimum of 50 
percent of programs are evidence based. Many of DBHR’s county-level prevention subcontractors 
focus their SAPT prevention funds on efforts to prevent underage drinking. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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State Interagency Collaboration  
A State-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Earlyse Swift 
Email: earlyse.swift@dshs.wa.gov 
Address: PO Box 45330, Olympia, WA 98504-5330 
Phone: 360-725-3807 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Office of the Governor 
Office of the Lieutenant Governor 
Office of the Attorney General 
Washington State Patrol 
Washington State Liquor Control Board 
Washington State Department of Health 
Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction 
Washington Traffic Safety Commission 
Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery 
Washington State Department of Commerce 
Governor’s Juvenile Justice Advisory Committee 
National Governor’s Spouses 
College Coalition for Substance Abuse Prevention 
Washington Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs 
Washington State Parent-Teacher Association 
Mothers Against Drunk Driving 
Tribes 
Youth 
Parents/families 
Faith community 
Court services/diversion 
Medical 
Washington State Coalition of Coalitions 
Students Against Destructive Decisions 
Washington National Guard Counterdrug Task Force 

A Web site or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL http://www.starttalkingnow.org 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery, Washington State Liquor Control Board and 
the Washington State Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking 

Plan can be accessed via Earlyse Swift, earlyse.swift@dshs.wa.gov 
State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery and Washington State Liquor Control Board 
Report can be accessed via Earlyse Swift, earlyse.swift@dshs.wa.gov 

Additional Clarification  

The Washington State Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking is co-chaired by the Division of Behavioral 
Health and Recovery and Washington State Liquor Control Board, so those two agencies generally take 
the lead on creation of plans and reports. The documents are then brought to the coalition for review and 
approval. 
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State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:  

Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of State funds expended $4,800,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of State funds expended $4,000,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of State funds expended $10,500 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included No data 
Estimate of State funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

 
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:  

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: No data 
Additional Clarification  

No data 




